Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How confident are you feeling on the New Drive-by-Wire Technology Acura are offering on MDX. IT seems to be a first generation on this type of vehicle, and I heard so many of horror stories on the new tranny on Type-S TL when it first came out. Are you willing to be the ginnie pig for Acura?

:confused:

·
Registered
285 Posts
well, the drive-by-wire has been implemented on the NSX for a long time... and it seems to be working just fine...

but, i have to agree that IF i ever want to trade in my 02 MDX for a new version, it would not be the 03 model, i would wait at least another year for the 04 model...;)

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Being an electrical engineer, I know some of the things that can go wrong with electronics; therefore, drive-by-wire isn't one of my favorite ideas. But it should have one advantage -- no more of the infamous Throttle Cable Bracket buzz!:5: BTW, the Pilot has what appears to be the same bracket as the '01-'02 MDX, and it appears to have only about 1/8" clearance; the fix for the MDX specified 10mm clearance, or about 3/8". I clued in my favorite Honda service writer on what to look for if buzz complaints come in.

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
NSX is RWD, MDX is 4WD

NSX has Drive-By-Wire for a long time, but it is their first time to implement it on 4WD car. I am not sure I still want the 1st allocation of 03 MDX, and get the Pilot instead....My Pilot's Vin number is here. I am still undecided if I want to go with 03 MDX or the Pilot.

·
Registered
10,732 Posts
Re: NSX is RWD, MDX is 4WD

2003MDX said:
NSX has Drive-By-Wire for a long time, but it is their first time to implement it on 4WD car. I am not sure I still want the 1st allocation of 03 MDX, and get the Pilot instead....My Pilot's Vin number is here. I am still undecided if I want to go with 03 MDX or the Pilot.