Acura MDX SUV Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to the MDX world. I have always wanted one, and took a chance. I bought a 2005 MDX touring with nav. with 144,000 miles on it with the VTM-4 code on it. I have read LOTS in the forums. I already replaced the oil temperature sensor in the differential hoping that would fix it. The rear differential fluid looks very good. It didnt, and I took to the shop. They said it was throwing a code of 52-1 They said something about the COILS in the differential. THe previous owner said he had ALOT of diagnostic work and AMCO said it was the VTM4 module. He said there was no metal shavings when he had the differntial fluid changed at amco. I was thinking about checking the Pins and the connector on that. What would you guys do next? I was able to find a used differential with only 54k on it for $150.

THanks for your help

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
See attached diagnostic. Check resistance of coil. If open or dead short, replacement is necessary. Simple diagnostic so likely coil is bad and owner opted to pass the problem on rather than fix. I hope you got a good deal.

good luck

Attachments

·
Registered
870 Posts
If you are new to MDX, you might not know how the AWD functions in these vehicles. Power to the rear wheels is delivered through a set of electromagnetically actuated clutches. If the clutches or the electromagnetic coils that engage them aren't working it's a front wheel drive vehicle with a uselessly spinning driveshaft going back to the rear "differential". It may drive OK but no AWD. $150 for a used diff sounds like a bargain if it works and you can get it installed without spending a fortune. Probably gonna be some labor to swap that diff.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·