Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm new to this foram. And quite frankly I was very happy to see that this site is real...heard rumors but never found it.

Anyway, back to my question. I've got Three 2001 MDX's, and all of them have a problem with the VTM...it doesn't work. That is the light does not come on, ever. Nor does the 4WD engage (power to and from switch).

To tell you the truth, all three vehicles have been modified with Audio/Video eqq. But nothing out of the ordinary (wiring etc.) has been moded. The only thing of significance that has been removed is the rear audio power amp. The power had been disconnected from the vehicles, and all of the interiors have been removed during the build (all has been put back after completion). I know vehicle fabrication/wiring very well, but I'm not past wondering if something from power disconnection/interior removal caused this. Could this be the problem of the VTM not working? Every dealership I have visited can't find the problem...nor do they even really try to. They get scared when they see the aftermarket Audio/Video system, then give me a standard dealership answer (not to knock any dealership people, that is not my intent).

Thanks in advance for any/all help.

Rino.

·
681 Posts
Clarification

Just to make sure I understand your question correctly. Do you mean the light doesn't ever come on while you are driving? That's normal. The drive engages automatically when needed (slippage - acceleration) but the light never comes on. The button ( and light) are only used to LOCK the car in 4 wheel drive with a fixed ratio. It will only work (and the light come on) when the car is in D1 or D2 and should never be engaged on dry pavement.