Acura MDX SUV Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have to replace my CDMA telematics unit with an LTE telematics unit. Does anyone have the instructions on how to do this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
152 Posts
Thanks for the post up E92!

I've noticed my AcuraLink LED has been intermittently red rather than green over the past few months and even called Acura about it - never knew there was a CDMA unit which will essentially be obsolete causing the issue.

Well, we'll see if Acura does this out of warranty; I have an Acuralink basic subscription still, so I'd do my best to ensure they do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,957 Posts
CDMA will be around for a while in the US with Verizon and Sprint, but once we all move entire to LTE and VoLTE, we will likely see the removal of CDMA transmission. At that point, I expect that Acura will probably do what other brands have done, including: 1) giving owners an option to update the telematics unit or 2) giving owners a credit for the remaining services that they were providing. But I'm guessing owners who don't subscribe and just have the usual 3 years free for traffic will just get nothing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
At the dealer now and they say my 2015 MDX telematics control unit is shot. I brought it in because last night driving and all my systems warning light came on. Hill start assit, emissions, Forward collision, lane departure, power steering and even a engine tempeture too high warning came on.

Question is it common for the TCU to cause those faults?

I just had the engine short block replaced (under warranty, thank god) and now this $2500+ repair.
Hopefully my extended warranty will cover this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I recently purchased a 2015 MDX Tech. Love the car but have an issue with downloading all of my contacts to the car. The local dealer has recommended that I replace the Telematics. I can make and receive calls, it will show the "recent" calls.. but nada on the contacts. Does anyone have any further guidance on this issue? I am not chomping at the bit to spend $2,500 for a "place to start" in the repair.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
672 Posts
I recently purchased a 2015 MDX Tech. Love the car but have an issue with downloading all of my contacts to the car. The local dealer has recommended that I replace the Telematics. I can make and receive calls, it will show the "recent" calls.. but nada on the contacts. Does anyone have any further guidance on this issue? I am not chomping at the bit to spend $2,500 for a "place to start" in the repair.
If the calling works fine, definitely don't spend the money replacing something that isn't broken. How often do you plan on scrolling through contacts on the car's navigation screen? Seems tedious/dangerous. I recommend using your phone's built-in voice assistant to dial. I don't even know if my MDX has my contacts in it because it's far easier to just ask my phone to call [contact name]. Eyes stay on the road the whole time.
If your phone doesn't have a voice assistant, all of your recent calls stay in the MID so it's easy to redial with 2 clicks of the steering wheel phone button.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have to replace my CDMA telematics unit with an LTE telematics unit. Does anyone have the instructions on how to do this?
If the calling works fine, definitely don't spend the money replacing something that isn't broken. How often do you plan on scrolling through contacts on the car's navigation screen? Seems tedious/dangerous. I recommend using your phone's built-in voice assistant to dial. I don't even know if my MDX has my contacts in it because it's far easier to just ask my phone to call [contact name]. Eyes stay on the road the whole time.
If your phone doesn't have a voice assistant, all of your recent calls stay in the MID so it's easy to redial with 2 clicks of the steering wheel phone button.

That does work... but I can't see who is calling without looking at the phone. Like I said... Certainly not worth $2400 or whatever. I can buy a telematics privately... wonder if it is a "plug and play" item? Probably not.. just thinking the manufacturer will want their chop on things...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I recently purchased a 2015 MDX Tech. Love the car but have an issue with downloading all of my contacts to the car. The local dealer has recommended that I replace the Telematics. I can make and receive calls, it will show the "recent" calls.. but nada on the contacts. Does anyone have any further guidance on this issue? I am not chomping at the bit to spend $2,500 for a "place to start" in the repair.
I'm not sure where you might be location wise, but the United States dealers have NO CLUE about the replacement for the telematics control unit. Likewise, I did find a TCU at the dealer in Hamilton, Ont, Ca for $1,248.00, but they can't ship anything across the border. I'm in Michigan, so I guess I'm close to Canada, so maybe a road trip is coming up, but I've got to update my passport to get in, if they're letting people in...LOL
I spoke with parts guys in Michigan and even Illinois, and they were completely mystified. Furthermore, I've found out that Acura Canada and Acura USA don't even know that the other company exist, except for what they've seen on TV, it seems. They do not talk to each other.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
The MDX I have is low miles and has a factory extended warranty on it. My dealer advised me today that they are going to upgrade to LTE so I can continue Acuralink. Thank you Acura. Our next car will be Acura.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Reference the Telematics unit part number....Canadian number is #39770-TZ5-C63. I haven't found a service manager or parts manager yet in the US that even knows what the things is. I've checked Michigan, Illinois, and Florida and the people I spoke with about this unit have no idea what I'm asking about. The number listed by "sgkent" is an older unit per the research I've been able to do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Reference the Telematics unit part number....Canadian number is #39770-TZ5-C63. I haven't found a service manager or parts manager yet in the US that even knows what the things is. I've checked Michigan, Illinois, and Florida and the people I spoke with about this unit have no idea what I'm asking about. The number listed by "sgkent" is an older unit per the research I've been able to do.
my dealer assures me that the part number is correct and it will reflect the upgraded part. That said it is now April 2022 and I have been waiting 7 months on this. Dealer says they still have parts for some cars on backorder since 2020. Sounds like Acura is screwed up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
my dealer assures me that the part number is correct and it will reflect the upgraded part. That said it is now April 2022 and I have been waiting 7 months on this. Dealer says they still have parts for some cars on backorder since 2020. Sounds like Acura is screwed up.
Thank you for the update! I wonder if the number I have is specific to Canada. I purchased a unit made in America, but for the Canadian market and I found that I've run into some issues with the American dealers not even wanting to touch my car. I give them my Canadian VIN# and they back off right away. Once again though, thank you for the update!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Just posting back that my dealer tells me the part is still on backorder from Acura. Almost a year now. I am totally done with Acura. My next car will be other based on this event and similar in my 2006 RL when Acura unilaterally discontinued the telematics ONStar contract in the cars without informing anyone that is what they had done.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top