Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
went to my local auto store and saw synthetic tranmission fluid for acura mdx,has anyone changed or used this type of fluid in their mdx.

·
Registered
263 Posts
went to my local auto store and saw synthetic tranmission fluid for acura mdx,has anyone changed or used this type of fluid in their mdx.
So what is a synthetic oil for ACURA at local auto parts store and not dealer. For sure it does not say ACURA on bottle if it is for sale outside dealer.

·
Registered
93 Posts
I've been using Valvoline MaxLife Full Synthetic for years on my 2004 MDX. It does say it's suitable for Acura's z1 fluid.

·
Registered
2,339 Posts
I'm waaay to much of a chicken to mess around with anything other than Honda/Acura ATF. Considering you only need to change ATF around 1-3 times on average during 150,000 miles of ownership, risk -vs- reward to too high on the risk side. It might be more of a benefit to put a larger trans cooler than switching to syn oil.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i'am in canada..local auto store here is 'can tire' i checked the bottle it says replacement for z1 fluid.. ps just normal driving no trailer towing or anything such

·
Registered
1,051 Posts
i'am in canada..local auto store here is 'can tire' i checked the bottle it says replacement for z1 fluid.. ps just normal driving no trailer towing or anything such
Z1 is the old standard for the fluid. The fluid needs to meed Acura DW-1 spec which is a fully synthetic ATF from Honda/ACURA. The canadian bottles clearly state synthetic on them!

You can buy a case from the dealer for around $90 which has 12 quarts, more than enough for a few fluid changes.

·
Registered
268 Posts
For sure it does not say ACURA on bottle if it is for sale outside dealer.