Acura MDX SUV Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2023 A-Spec / Had '06 Touring/Nav
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's a newish oddity that I'm experiencing. Very rarely, maybe only 3 times over the last several weeks, when applying the brake before pushing the start button, the brake pedal is stiff. It's like it was pumped and so the very top (beginning) of the travel is firm. After starting, the brake depresses, feels, and behaves normally.

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm not really concerned but, it is odd. Since it's only happened a few times, I can't really relate it to any unusual steps or changes in the park and shut down process.

Also, while I'm thinking about it, how many of you just hit the engine stop button when you park instead of first hitting park? If you just shut the engine down, it automatically shifts to park from drive or reverse. I'm inclined to hit park as I've been putting cars in park for a few years (about 44) but, is this just another old school paradigm? Why not save a step and just hit "stop?"

·
Registered
2022 MDX A-SPEC
3 Posts
So I’ve had the hard brake pedal issue several times in my 2022 MDX. Also had the same issue in my 2019 MDX. I took the 2019 in to the dealer several times and they ended up replacing several components in the brake system. I haven’t taken this one in yet. The 2019 had a fully hydraulic braking system. This 2022 has the electronic braking I’ve been told (which I don’t really like). I find that I have to hold a ridiculous amount of pressure on the brake pedal at lights or in traffic to stop the car from creeping forward! I should take it in to have both issues addressed but the Acura dealers in my area suck so bad that every time I took my old MDX in for anything it was 7-10 days before I got it back. So I just keep putting it off.

·
Registered
21 Posts