Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I ordered a SBP Touring back in December, 2002. I finally got a VIN number in February and was told to expect delivery on 2/27. Now the date has slipped to March 10th and they would not even tell me about the change until I inquired. Is this normal? Dealer is blaming it on the trucking company. Am I being too hard nosed about this or should I be expecting the sales folks to be proactive and keep me appriased on changing ETAs, especially when I am paying more than $42K for a vehicle.

Also the dealer is insisting that they will install the accessories I have ordered only after they recieve payment from my lender. Again, is this normal in the Acura community? Worst case scenario, I do not think the dealer will have a problem selling an MDX if I want to inspect the car fully (including accessories) before paying for it.

I'm new to the world of Acura's but I do not think the dealer should go against a general business practice. Any pointers or advice is appreciated.

Eagerly awaiting to lay my hands on the new baby... :)

Thanks.
RTFM

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have had the same experience with a "slipping" ETA, from 2/26 to 2/28 to 3/3 to 3/10, and now supposedly back to 3/6. I have been told that the private carrier is supposedly criss-crossing the state of Washington delivering cars??....

I don't get the sense that this is anything to get too worked up about, but it has been mildly irritating in terms of trying to free up time to do a proper once-over on delivery. It's made scheduling the other less important stuff (like WORK!) a challenge!!!

That second part, though, about not installing accessories doesn't seem right, and that I would take issue with.

Good luck!

Peter
Bellevue, WA

·
Registered
1,724 Posts