Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
3,107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just changed the oil in my 14 MDX myself for the second time and thought I'd post some tips. I've been changing the oil in my vehicles myself for over 40 years and many hundreds of K miles and have never had an engine problem even after hundreds of K miles per engine. Changing the oil doesn't take much time - it takes me less time than taking the vehicle to a dealer or oil change place.

- 14 MDX SHAWD Tech - around 17K miles -

- Spec for the oil is 0W-20 with the API seal. This could be a blend or full synthetic and I don't think 0W-20 is made as a non-synthetic (natural). The spec doesn't care which is used.

- I used Mobil 1 0W-20 full synthetic Advanced Fuel Economy oil purchased in a 5 quart container at Walmart. I purchased it at Walmart because that's the only place I could find that had it in the 5 quart container and the price was good. Surprisingly, it's not carried at the closest Walmart to me but is at one a bit further away. It seems weird it's carried at some but not at others (i.e. it wasn't just out of stock).

- I purchased the oil filter (a Honda) at the local Acura dealer and included a new crush washer with it. I'm sure this would be cheaper on the internet but it really wasn't very expensive at the dealer.

- I warmed up the engine before doing the oil change to make sure the oil would drain well (but I'm not sure it's really needed with 0W-20 synthetic). Beware of hot exhaust pipes when doing it with a warm engine.