Acura MDX SUV Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is an 18 cubic ft Jegs rooftop unit. It says it requires the crossbars to be 24” apart. Which they are.

This is my first time using a rooftop box like this and it just seems like the nose of the unit would be getting too much wind underneath if that makes sense?

Or am I over worrying..?

Thanks in advance!
Automotive carrying rack Hood Vehicle Tree Automotive lighting

Wheel Plant Car Vehicle Hood

Plant Vehicle Hood Tree Shade

Tire Wheel Car Automotive lighting Automotive tire

·
Registered
'22 MDX Type S Adv
401 Posts
Nobody asked for opinions buddy. I asked if the placement is okay on the crossbars. Wtf are you talking about..

You have waited all year to comment about your Thule that nobody cares about lmao :ROFLMAO:
Or....

This is an 18 cubic ft Jegs rooftop unit. It says it requires the crossbars to be 24” apart. Which they are.

This is my first time using a rooftop box like this and it just seems like the nose of the unit would be getting too much wind underneath if that makes sense?

Or am I over worrying..?

Thanks in advance!
You were right in your assumption that it will have too much windage, noisy, hurting mileage, and its a piece of crap. Return it and buy something better. This roofbox is for 20 year old subaru outbacks

You even thanked me in advance.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Just buy a decent box. Look at CL for used Thule or similar, sometimes people get rid of them cheap.

Even older model Thule will look far better than what you've got going on here.

·
Registered
4,712 Posts
Some thing I had to get use to with my Yakima Rocketbox on my previous 2nd Gen MDX was:

• bugs bouncing off the bottom of the roof box and having bug gut all over the sun roof glass (do not drive with sunroof glass open with a roof box)
  • passing 18 wheelers and getting buffing and shaking
  • buffing and vehicle shaking on windy days and with gusty cross winds