Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is the roof rack as supplied on the Touring model ready for use, or do I need additional components? (Obviously I do for skis & bikes; I'm asking about boxy stuff like luggage.) There's no protection (like plastic strips) for the paint on the roof itself. The supplied crossbars are slightly convex, which doesn't make them a good base. Which leads me to believe I have to buy something...but what?

I'm sure this is obvious to most people, but I'm new to the SUV world. My "other" car is a Jag XK8 coupe, which has just enough storage for an aspirin tablet and a Milky Way.

Forgive me if this has been covered; a forum search for "roof rack" doesn't work, because of all the mentions in the "signature" area.

·
Registered
8,866 Posts
Acura does make a cargo box for around $300. . . ask tim at Hondacuraworld

·
Registered
24 Posts
Try a search under "Yakima"

Lots of good treads.

Good Luck!!

·
Registered
671 Posts
I've used the roof rack "as is" and it works great for large, flat objects that span the distance between the two bars. I've considered getting the box for long trips.

·
Registered
738 Posts
tangible said:
Is the roof rack as supplied on the Touring model ready for use, or do I need additional components? (Obviously I do for skis & bikes; I'm asking about boxy stuff like luggage.) There's no protection (like plastic strips) for the paint on the roof itself. The supplied crossbars are slightly convex, which doesn't make them a good base. Which leads me to believe I have to buy something...but what?

I'm sure this is obvious to most people, but I'm new to the SUV world. My "other" car is a Jag XK8 coupe, which has just enough storage for an aspirin tablet and a Milky Way.

Forgive me if this has been covered; a forum search for "roof rack" doesn't work, because of all the mentions in the "signature" area.