Acura MDX SUV Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm very new to this but have already found some great information on these forums.

I bought a 2001 MDX W/Navi about a month ago and am loving it except my parents got in the back and told me that the rear A/C wasn't working. I found on here that the rear transistor goes out so I replaced that and now have power and a blower! The bad part is that it only blows cold air. It doesn't matter if it's on auto or rear control, the only air I can get out of the rear is cold and not just outside air cold, I mean A/C cold. The heat and everything works great up front.

We are coming into the colder months and would love to fix this, any suggestions?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
You can retrieve a code from the rear heater/A/C control. To do this...
1) Turn the rear fan switch to OFF
2) Turn the key to the II position (on, but not running)
3) On the rear controls, press the vent switch, and then the heat switch. Hold them both down until the vent indicator (the light on the vent switch) comes on for two seconds. If that light doesn't blink after the two second "on", there are no codes stored. If it does blink, count the number of blinks and let me know.

FWIW, there are a few things that can cause lack of heat in the rear.

1) Maybe there is no hot water flowing to/from the rear heater core (in the rear of the console). You can test this by laying under the car with the rear heat on high, and the engine warm(ish). You should be able to feel the (obvious) heater lines running coolant back to the rear heater. If just one hose is warm, it would indicate that no water is flowing through the heater core. Neither being warm could indicate the same thing, or that something up front is preventing coolant from flowing back.