Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a used '02 MDX of unknown maintenance history, and would like to make sure the transmission doesn't die on me.

I've read the thoughtful and well-written:
TransCooler

I brought up some concerns to one of the parts department employees at the local Honda dealership, and he gave me the predictable "just leave it alone and run it until it dies" answer.

When asked about replacing the existing fluid with synthetic, he said that "synthetic has a different viscosity than regular oil" and because of that, "synthetic would cause the seals to leak".

I'm unconvinced.

Also claimed replacing gear sensor/switches might lead to a cascade of changes in the transmission.

"I've been doing this for 15 years, and the biggest mistake I see is people start to replace parts on/in the transmission when the transmission isn't broken."

Of course, he also admitted that there's no way to diagnose if something is in the process of going wrong in the transmission without disassembling it....

Also, if someone could check my facts and figures,
it's my understanding that the '02 MDX has 9 quarts of ATF, 5 of which drain out during a drain-and-fill.
This means that after the first D&F, 4/9 of the old fluid remains (44.44%).
D&F again, and (4/9) * (4/9) leaves about 19.75% old fluid.
the third D&F would result in 8.78% of the old fluid remaining in the system.

But I always see "3x3" fluid changes which suggests that only 3 quarts drain out.
This yields 6/9 old fluid after the first D&F (66.67%)
(6/9) * (6/9) after the second D&F (44.44%)
and after the third D&F, 29.63% old fluid.

Can anyone help me out here?

·
Registered
93 Posts
I have a used '02 MDX of unknown maintenance history, and would like to make sure the transmission doesn't die on me.

I've read the thoughtful and well-written:
TransCooler