Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
This is my first time post here -- I'll confess to lurking around this forum for years and for the most part always being able to find something helpful. Today I have, but there's a piece of information I don't have.

Wife and I own a 2008 Acura MDX -- it's hers, she keeps the interior so clean it looks like a 2017. We were away from our cars for the past month, and when she came back she found a dead battery. I'm positive that is the known HFL issue (which I never disconnected). After the battery was replaced, she was driving and the car kept shutting down on her and then re-starting. She would mention it was the XM Radio going out.

Took it into car mechanic, battery is good, alternator is good (we replaced it last year). They didn't change anything. I do believe they cleaned up the battery terminals because she stated the car hasn't had the issue since (5 days) -- but like other people here she's lost confidence that the car is dependable.

Reading the forums here:
"Full Engine Shutdown While Driving"
"Gently Reminder Check Your Grounds"
"Best Battery Cable Terminal Replacement"

I believe that replacing the battery cables will fix the issue. Here's the question I have: What parts do I need to buy and get installed?
Since she also had a similar issue with loose positive terminal (and her car died on her in middle of road), I'm not allowed to touch her car.
We have a mechanic and I want to take the correct parts in and ask him to replace.

I am looking for some suggestions or part numbers -- it seems my method of google search comes up with some results, but I don't fully trust those.
Examples of parts I've seen:
32410STXA00 (positive cable?) -- via e-bay

I've also seen Duralast cables:
DT438B
via a different online store.

My understanding is that replacing the negative (or ground) battery cable is the way to start, because it is cheaper.