Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I get great performance, kicks in front of every car around me, but when I floor it when I need to pull ahead (merging, etc.), there's a strange sound like rattle (obviously not the VTEC kicking in) as I go....anyone else hear this?

Rob :31:

·
Registered
3,761 Posts
What speed?

Specific RPM?

What gear?

·
Registered
3,761 Posts
throttle cable position bracket? checked that one? tho it's usually under load and rpm related...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Well, I'm a new Pilot owner lurking around in this MDX forum and finding several similarities (we have the gas slosh/thud and pillar nicks, for example).

But I'm hearing something that is keeping me from enjoying my Pilot and I (and dealer) can't figure it out. It's a valve rattle/chatter sound (at least that's what it sounds like to my husband and me) and it seems to happen only at certain times.

It's at low speed, about 30-35 mph, and happens when I'm "under load" -- often when accelerating up a low hill from a stop, or when asking a bit of the engine. I don't hear it on the interstate, however, and I don't hear it at higher speeds, even tho I'm listening very hard.

What could cause this kind of valve noise in a brand-new car? Dealer said he couldn't hear it, and said these cars just don't have trouble with their valves. But it's bothering me too much and I'll have to go in again, and force him into an extended test drive. On certain hills near my house, it happens nearly 100% of the time.

It's possible it's some sort of rattle that imitates valve knocking, but I dunno...Anyone here have a thought (since we have the same engine?)

·
Registered
179 Posts
Pilot and MDX rattle

Sort of sounds like the Pilot needs a little more than 87 Octane gas. It is a good selling point for Honda, but...

Try filling with 91 or 93 Octane and see if it goes away.

·
Registered
5 Posts