Acura MDX SUV Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no electrical expert, so maybe someone can help me here.

If I hook up the black lead on my multimeter to the negative terminal, the positive lead to the disconnected negative cable, and I set the voltmeter to 10 amps and i get a reading of .31, is this 310 milliamps?

Is that considered too much parasitic draw for a 2006 MDX? I googled and a lot of results say anything over 50 milliamps is too much, but it can be car dependent.

I'm just checking because the car sat for two days (and it's been in the minus teens celsius) and wouldn't start last night. I took the battery to local auto parts store where they did a load test and said the battery was no good. Bought a new one, but want to make sure some excess parasitic draw isn't going to kill the new one as well.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,389 Posts
.310mA is around what should be having... This powers the ECU, Alarm, Memory seats and HU Clock.
Seems that the battery was done for and the extreme cold just aggravated the issue.

Remember that most lead acid batteries are around +/- 40Ah that is around 40,000mAh so .310mAh while shut off is little to nothing for a normal battery.. 1A-1.5A though? that is a HUGE LOAD for parasitic draw and its what the faulty HFL Unit takes when it fails.

·
Registered
961 Posts
I'm no electrical expert, so maybe someone can help me here.

If I hook up the black lead on my multimeter to the negative terminal, the positive lead to the disconnected negative cable, and I set the voltmeter to 10 amps and i get a reading of .31, is this 310 milliamps?

Is that considered too much parasitic draw for a 2006 MDX? I googled and a lot of results say anything over 50 milliamps is too much, but it can be car dependent.