Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Mdxers,

First thank you for the great site that educate many of us who is the first time MDX owners. The site helps a lot for making the decision to buy Acura MDX and ensure to be aware of all kind of issues and keep up to date with owners experience.

My main reason of this post that I need your opinion/suggestions although there is some topics about this subject but couldn't find specific to my questions.

This is my first time want to put paint protection on my first Acura MDX Black color. I went to couple shops that dose Xpel Ultimate films. Their pricing is firm which is the same as Xpel website. One shop offer custom cuts which has the films fold under the hood, fenders, bumpers, etc.. of course the cost is 50% higher than computer cut. According to the shop the custom cut helps rock ships from hitting the edges and also prevent collecting dirt around the edges.

I want to go with computer cut for full hood, fenders, mirrors, front bumper, headlamps and save 50% on the pricing. Dose anyone have this computer cut on MDX for a long time? Dose it collect dirt around the edges and the films will be come very obvious? What is the best to wash the car automatic or by hand after you put the films?

Your thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I don't have it on the mdx we just bought yesterday, but I have it on my weekend/toy car- 2003 corvette Z06- and it's the best stuff on the market. Scratches melt away w/ sunlight/heat. Like ANY film it'll show the edge over time w/ dust/cleaning products/wax/hard water deposits over time- really no way getting around that but dark colors will be worse than light in that regard.

Going over the edges in some spots as the installer suggests will help with that

·
Registered
123 Posts