Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All -

Last question before I pull the trigger on my purchase for my new to me 2017 (i'm sure there'll be more questions after purchase LOL).

I had a mechanic inspect the vehicle and he sent me this picture, a P2638 code is found in the Automatic Transmission. He said he reset it and it re-appeared shortly after driving. He also mentioned that these vehicles have a "ultra complex 9 speed transmission that has a bad reputation but is generally reliable" With regards to a fix or what to do, he couldn't comment other than resetting the ECU and the Transmission Control unit.

I'm not a car expert, but sounds like that just masks the issue... anyone else received that code and ultimately what was the fix?

Thanks

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
3,340 Posts
You were smart to have it inspected by a mechanic before purchasing it.

I don't recall anyone posting about this code on this forum but you could do a search in the forum for the code and see if you get any hits.

I don't have any input for you on your actual question but since you haven't purchased it yet why not just say 'never mind' to this one and keep looking for another that has no issues? There are lots of MDXs out there - no need to settle for one that has an issue on it.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Just to confirm, is the Engine light on or the MID says transmission issue in MID?
No, no check engine light, nothing on the MID. Just visible on the diagnostic tool the mechanic was using. He said that his tool showed that this code would not set the money light (engine malfunction light) on its own

·
Registered
3,340 Posts