Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I searched the knowledge base etc....for my oil problem and didn't find too much. Hoping you guys can help. Please understand I am not good with "car lingo" so bear with me....

My husband noticed a few drops of oil in the driveway each day and a light cover of oil, sort of splattering, around the underside of the chassis (not sure about that spelling) and we took it to Leith Acura in Fayetteville, NC (just moved). They felt it had something to do with the crusher washer you replace when you change the oil but it ended up we needed a new rear valve cover gasket. Anyone else experience this problem? The service man said he had never seen an MDX with an oil leak before, but he also hadn't ever seen an MDX with mileage as high as ours (28K). What do you all think? I'm hoping the fix resolved the problem but now I'm a little concerned.

Also, does anyone know how you can go in and change your signature line?

·
Registered
10,732 Posts
Did you go to Control Panel, then Edit Options?

A leaky valve cover gasket is not that rare.
Although I have not seen it reported here before on an MDX. But in the 'auto' world it's a natural occurrence.
Probably the valve cover was not torqued sufficiently, and over time plus engine heat began to expand and contract until the leak started.
I wouldn't worry about it. Just check every other day or say for a while, make sure the leak is stopped. Check your oil level and under the car.
So he considers your vehicle high mileage? When did you purchase it?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
We purchased it in April of 2001. I assume the dealer here doesn't sell too many MDXs - it's not exactly a big city and I've seen very few here. I laughed when he said he never saw one with mileage like that - I figured that really meant he hadn't worked on too many :)

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4