Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, newbie here! I have been looking for a few days online including this site for a solution to my problem. I can't find any solutions that pertain to my exact issue. I was wondering if anyone here could help me out. Here goes....

About 3 days ago I go to start my ACURA MDX 2001, turn the key and nothing happens. No crank, no radio, no lights, nothing. I wait a few seconds, do it again and it starts up right up and drives. No warning lights on dash.

Couple of days ago, I go to start it again, it does the same thing where Nothing happens when turning the key all the way. After a few tries with a few seconds in-between each try, it starts right up and drives. No warning lights on dash.

Yesterday, I jump into start the car in the morning, the same thing happens. NOTHING. After a few tries, It starts up, only this time its different. Its quiet, and very shaky. Something definitely wrong. I try to back out of my parking space and it dies. This time battery/charging light is on on the dash. Everytime I try to start it up, it starts but then its still shaky and slow and quiet. I swap out a the battery for a new one. It does the same thing. Starts but its not drivable. (the mdx).

Today, I swapped the alternator out for a new one. It starts up but still very shaky, quiet, slowish sounding, and not drivable. Nothing changed. I accelerated when its on but then it dies immediately afterwards. This time I smell gas. My brother says it might be the fuel pump. Im not sure.

Recap: 2001 Acura Mdx, new battery, new alternator, starts now, but very shaky, looks and sounds like an old "putt-putt" car you would see in vintage cartoons. Not drivable. Smelling gas now.

I would appreciate some suggestions. I don't know what to do at this point. Should I replace the fuel pump?Or whatever else? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
134 Posts