Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I took it for a real life drive yesterday.
100 miles round trip.
Mostly highway (85%), some back roads and very little city driving.
Dash shows 28.2 MPG, not bad for this size car.
I had it in comfort mode, except once I turned on sport+ for a short 2 mile.

Apple Car play - Very nice. Loved seeing satellite map (google map) on the screen.
One caution you need original apple cable (I guess too much data demand) because 3rd party cables were intermittent and kept dropping connection to the car.
I am still learning car play but I can see using it all the time.

LKAS is the best, it actually keeps the car in lane for long stretches...
Very useful for long road trips.
Compared to that my 2017 Prius Prime will only beep and nudge a little but it will NOT keep the car in lane.
On MDX I did found that at times it turns the system off (not solid lane markings on the dash).
That's unfortunate because I can't rely on it for a long (I got surprised twice when it started to weer off).

ACC...
Prius wins this one. It's spot on when following vehicle ahead of you.
It is so accurate to focus only on the lane ahead of you, it doesn't get fooled by cars in the
lanes around you.
MDX seem to have much wider area covered ahead of you.
I was following a car and it went in to right lane and took exit but MDX kept slowing down even though
there was no car in my lane...

Both ACC are smooth but I found MDX little quick to accelerate (which I like).
Prius is very smart as in if a car cuts in it doesn't stomp on the brakes, it gives a little time before slowing down.
I have not run into this with MDX yet.

Hybrid - I did notice engine kicking in often even when there was sufficient battery charge on a small windy back road.
When I press the accelerator from stand still 90% of the time engine kicks in regardless of battery level.