Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...how about it...? worth it ? or should we just let the dealers use the honda standar?

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
search on sythetic oil

it has been hammered out, with advocates of Amsoil, Mobile1, mineral oil et cetera...

·
Registered
499 Posts
Stumpie

I have always used Mobil 1 on my 01 X. As for a difference, I see no outward signs, it is just bettere for your engine..

·
Registered
166 Posts
I just changed my car over to Mobil 1 and am planning on changing our 'X to it as well. While I've never used it before, I know plenty of people who swear by it. Also, most of the German imports (BMW, M-B, Porsche) use it from the factory so it can't be that bad...:)

·
Registered
331 Posts
Mobil 1

I spent a lot of years working with the folks at GM Tech Center and they absolutely love the stuff. Very highly recommended. I used it in all my cars since the 70's. I used 5w-30 and in the cold country I'm from you could really notice the difference on those 30 below AM's. At the Tech Center I say test done on engines with and w/o, no question about the performance. I'd use it if it cost $10/qt.

·
Registered
327 Posts
Mobil 1

Called my dealer yesterday to schedule the first (3,750 miles) oil change and that I wanted to use Mobil 1, 5W-30. Their response was that I should not use Mobil 1 before 10,000 miles because it might cause the piston rings to seat improperly and destroy the engine. They claim this has already happened with some of their customers; and that if I chose to use Mobil 1 it would be indicated on the service report with a warning of maybe adversely affecting the warranty.

The dealer is Pohanka in VA. Anybody else have this kind of resistance? They use Honda 5W-20 in the MDX.

·
Registered
331 Posts
R Stevens: