Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I listened to all of your feedback regarding the towing and brought my 2WD ‘15 back (carmax was so nice to let me return it) and picked up an sh-awd ‘15 from the Acura dealer. I love it! And I don’t feel hindered anymore

I’ve purchased and installed the rear bumper protector, the running boards, and the roof rails all with zero difficulty. Roof rails were obviously the hardest because it involved sawing parts down and reattaching, plus the reattaching was kind of tricky at some points, but it was still fairly easy and I got it done in an hour.

Here’s my situation: I’m contemplating whether or not to get the tow hitch done at the dealer or do it myself. I have no experience installing a tow hitch but I can follow directions well. The thing is the dealer wants 800 for the hitch and installation labor (I’m not doing the cooler right now because I have nothing heavy to tow. I’ll add it later. Im aware my limit is 3500 lbs). But dealer wants 800 for the hitch, and another dealer 2 hours away has the factory hitch and harness on sale for $421 (roughly 480 after tax). It seems REALLY tempting to try and save 320 bucks.

My question to you is: have you installed both the oem hitch and the roof rails? How does the oem hitch install compare? Easier? Harder? About the same?

I’ve read through the instructions on the hitch as well as watched installation videos, I just want some comparative feedback from someone who’s done both.

Thank you!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,952 Posts
The hitch is really simple to do. If you did the roof rails you should have no problems doing the hitch!

Reactions: Joel_RRT

·
Registered
869 Posts