Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again folks,

I am new to the MDX world and just picked up my first MDX. It's a 2017 and has almost 58k miles on it. Seeing that it is a used car and I do not know the history of the vehicle, I think I would like to bring it into Acura to have them give it good look.

The oil life on the car is showing 100% left. Is it possible that the used car place that I picked the car up from reset the oil life timer? Is the car actually smart enough to sample the oil in the engine and figure out how much life is left, or is it strictly going off of mileage?

My old Honda Pilot's owners manual had a section that would tell you what was due to be serviced/changed at 30k, 60k, 80k, 100k, etc. And for oil changes, I would just remember to get them every 5k or so as it had no fancy oil life meter. I cannot find this anywhere within the manual of my MDX. Am I missing it, or will the car notify me of everything?

Thanks

·
Registered
316 Posts
So the truth is, the computer calculate the oil life back on your driving habit, it's totally not base of the oil. So back to your assumption, yes, they could just reset the oil life before giving you the car. Or, you can pull out the dipstick and check. When I just got my MDX, I changed all the fluid just in case.

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
If you can't find the service records, you should plan to replace the fluids and filters down the road for a good starting point (engine oil, transmission, transfer case, rear diff, brake fluid, cabin air, engine air filter). Probably wouldn't hurt to check the tires for wear and rotate/balance them. The coolant, serpentine belt, and spark plugs can wait until 105K service.

·
Registered
893 Posts