Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon - over a year ago, the Maint Req light appeared on my wife's 2002 MDX. We took it to a local shop where it simply read that we needed to have the oil change. Easy enough. We had the oil changed and the light was cleared. Then maybe 6 months ago, the Maint Required light again came on. Out of the blue, I was adding some Lucas injector cleaner to my small pickup and also put a bottle in her MDX to a full tank of gas. The light magically went away. Now last week, the light came back on and we thought, well, this worked before, so we again added Injector cleaner to a full tank of gas. Magically, the Maint light went away and just as magically, the orange engine light came on.

We are in our 60's and this was our first Acura or any make other than a Detroit make so as much as a shade tree mechanic I can be, the Acura is a different breed. We LOVE this car! Mileage isn't great but it's a great trade off for comfort. Other than going to AutoZone to have them check the code, is the orange engine light telling me something?

·
Registered
3,338 Posts
The Requirement Maintenance Light is triggered by mileage, back in those days Acura had fixed mileage for that light..
It will blink when starting the car at 7000miles (After being reset) and it will continue to blink and chime until 7500 where it will go constant On.. This light is pretty outdated since new Synthetic Oils can outperform the oil used to tune that Maintenance Light.. If you go with full Synthetic Oil you can go full year round protection in which case you will need to reset the maintenance light.

To Reset the Light:
1.- Hold the button "RESET" in the right of the instrument panel in the dashboard.
2.- Turn the Key to position II "Ignition" (Dash light up, Don´t start the car)
3.- Wait until the Maintenance Light goes off
4.- Turn the Key back to "Off" and remove it to be sure.