Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, long time Honda guy here. I am also a collision repair technician.
I am looking at a 2016 MDX ( 61k miles ) this weekend. What things should I pay close attention to when inspecting or test driving?
Are there any significant problems that should deter me from purchasing this vehicle?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Hello, long time Honda guy here. I am also a collision repair technician.
I am looking at a 2016 MDX ( 61k miles ) this weekend. What things should I pay close attention to when inspecting or test driving?
Are there any significant problems that should deter me from purchasing this vehicle?

Thanks in advance.
Its the 1st MY for the ZF-9spd AT. Make sure to check that out.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
948 Posts
+1 for ZF9 trans. Personally I would skip the 9 speed and look for a 2015 with the 6 speed.

·
Registered
2,539 Posts
The 16 MDX was the year Acurawatch was available on all trim level as an option (standard on the adv model). I would double-check to see if you have adaptive cruise control (ACC), collision mitigation braking system (CMBS) , and lane keeping assist (LKAS) with the MDX you are checking out.

The 16 MDX was the first year Acura used the 9AT for the MDX. A lot of folks had issues with the 9AT shifting with the 16 MDX that was fixed to almost a non-issue by the +18 MDXs (some 9AT issues with the updated 17 MDX; but, less than the 16 MDXs had). I don't know if it was a just a software fix and/or hardware upgrades that smoothed out the 9AT in later years.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks people.

·
Registered
210 Posts
If the budget will allow, a 2017 model will have an electronic parking brake with automatic brake hold, walk away auto locking for the doors, automatic high beams, and all of the AcuraWatch+ safety features standard regardless of trim.