Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, just signed up my very first Acura. Bought it locally with Remote Start, Hitch and All Weather floor / cargo matts.

Glad to found this great forum and I already have my very first question to post on here: Should I buy the dealer offered 8yr/100K extended warranty - $1900?

The warranty, known as Service Contract, is offered by Protective Asset Protection company. So, is it still backed by the dealership or Acura??

As an old schooler, we should waive all extended warranty, but the fact is that there is so much high tech gadgets in the car and it costs a lot for repair. And they are indeed prone to failure. So, a good solid extended warranty can be a good insurance.

I still have time to cancel it, so please help me out here. Any input is appreciated. Anyone has any experience with the Protective company?

:29:

·
Registered
39 Posts
I am a newbie but researched your question for my own purchase. Which trim level of MDX did you get? That may help some of us answer your question. Search this forum and you will get many answers to your questions.

I have not heard of them; however, If it was through an Acura dealer I believe they should have the Acura Extended Warranty to offer you.

Also, you have the option of buying an Acura extended warranty up until your manufacturers warranty runs out. You can check prices online and find the best deal and any Acura dealer should honor it.

To be honest since it's new I would cancel it and check on the Acura Care Extended Warranty. Ask your dealer (or any Acura dealer)

Here is a link:

Acura Care extended coverage beyond the original warranty

I'm sure some with more experience will respond to your question but in my opinion I would cancel the warranty you have and go with the Acura Care Extended Warranty once your MDX gets closer to when the manufacturer's warranty runs out.

Good luck.

·
Registered
837 Posts