Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I was on my way back from school when the car lurched in 3rd gear, almost as to go to second, but decided otherwise... Ok, whats the deal? I decide to go to manual shift, but it won't show me what gear I am in... What is going on???

On the road I take home, the car normally drives in fifth gear, but it will not go above 3rd, and manual mode won't let me change that... And then I decide to take my foot off the gas, and i notice that the torque converter isn't locked, as it normally is.

I'm at a loss, this car has thrown errors for the 2nd clutch sensor before, but this time it hasn't. No codes, except for a low tire which has no relation to the transmission at all...

Can someone help me out here?

It's an '07 with the tech package, and canada has yet to rear it's ugly head with the cold... Last thing i need it to be dead on the side of the road with a broken tranny... Fluid looks fine, recently changed about 500km ago actually.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
What fluid was used when it was changed? How was it changed, drain and refill or power flush with a pump? Fluid may look fine but if the level is not correct the transmission may behave as you describe. I would check the level first, making sure to use the correct procedure (get engine to operating temp - the cooling fan comes on when it reaches the temp, shut the car off, check dipstick after 60 sec. but before 90 seconds pass). If that's not it, drain and refill 3 times with Honda/Acura ATF.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,341 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Last time I changed it was with Honda zf1 fluid, didn?t do a power drain.

Also its not going above 3rd (excuse me I?m on mobile and can?t see the names) and I?m going to see about the range sensor, I?ll keep everybody posted. Changing the 2nd clutch pressure sensor as it needs to be done, hoping that it fixes it.

Also, I went out to the car last night and did a quick check, p0757 was pending... second solenoid stuck on, going to see if the switch fixes it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Update

Got the second clutch sensor replaced, and man it was not an easy task with all the garbage in the way..

Car drove a lot smoother shifting into second gear, so that's a win! Now i'm just going to keep an eye on it while driving to and from school. Going to do another drain and fill of the tranny (the dealership charged me $110 on my other car, and since then I get the fluid for $40 a change at the dealer and do it myself!) and hopefully after it's all said and done, I drive away with my car in good shape!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Update...

So I was going out to dinner with the family and im in the mall parking lot and it just decided to throw a code. Whatever, check when I get home.

P0842. I replaced my pressure sensor specifically for this code, and it came back...

Can someone point me in a direction here? I'm not sure what else it could be other than the second solenoid, and I hope that's not it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
So I was going out to dinner with the family and im in the mall parking lot and it just decided to throw a code. Whatever, check when I get home.

P0842. I replaced my pressure sensor specifically for this code, and it came back...

Can someone point me in a direction here? I'm not sure what else it could be other than the second solenoid, and I hope that's not it.
:nerd:

did you read/consider previous suggestion concerning replacing your TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH?

Torque converter wont lock in 2nd gear.... Only in 3rd and in very light load situations so its fine.
As for the car not going into 3rd? you got a very good diagnose with the car not showing the gear number I will suspect the TRS (Transmission Range Switch) is malfunctioning.

Check this thread: http://www.mdxers.org/forums/74-second-generation-mdx-2007-2013/140874-transmission-range-switch-safety-switch-3.html#post1340121
I had mine replaced several months ago after stumbling upon one of Mr. Skirmich's very insightful threads and the old one that was removed from my 2009 MDX looked like this!:

<img src="http://www.mdxers.org/gallery/500/thumbs/2.jpg" width="96%" height="96%">
<img src="http://www.mdxers.org/gallery/500/thumbs/5.jpg" width="96%" height="96%">
<img src="http://www.mdxers.org/gallery/500/thumbs/6.jpg" width="96%" height="96%">
<img src="http://www.mdxers.org/gallery/500/thumbs/4.jpg" width="96%" height="96%">
<img src="http://www.mdxers.org/gallery/500/thumbs/3.jpg" width="96%" height="96%">

In summary, if you have one of your local Acura Stealerships perform this work, you will likely get butt raped for an approximate total of about $360-$480 US dollars (parts and labor)! :surprise:

Or you can buy the part yourself for under $70
https://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Honda-28900-RYF-023-Position-Assembly/dp/B00KTLHX9Q
*(you can ignore Amazon's 'this part does not fit your 2007 MDX' they're wrong on this- fit mine like a glove and Mr. Skirmich has verified this!)

And you can either do the work yourself or pay a competent (NON-stealership mechanic)- I was only charged about $100 by a local mechanic in my area who worked years a master mechanic at Acura/Honda dealerships before going rogue and opening up his own (5 start YELP) rated shop! :29:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
:nerd:
did you read/consider previous suggestion concerning replacing your TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH?
:29:
You know I did think about it, and i really should look at the trs, but this doesn't feel like it would have anything to do with such part... Because it has to do with a solenoid, how does that translate to the trs?

Thanks for pointing it out again though! I'll have to take a look
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
You know I did think about it, and i really should look at the trs, but this doesn't feel like it would have anything to do with such part... Because it has to do with a solenoid, how does that translate to the trs?

Thanks for pointing it out again though! I'll have to take a look
No problemo amigo! :1:

Sorry that question is way beyond my capacity to answer it- something as relatively simple as changing my MDX's oil is a very challenging task to me- have never done it, and likely never will :(...I'm more accustomed to whipping out the debit card.

However I will say IMHO that Mr. Skirmich know's what he's talking about when it comes to mechanics/2nd gen. Acura MDX- his advice (along with the many helpful 2nd gen. MDX owners on this MB) has saved me from lots of money and headaches, and is a significant contributing factor in as to why my 92,500 mile 2009 MDX is still running like brand new today- nearly 9 years after rolling off of the Acura stealership lot, brand spanking new! :29:....

All in all, a truly, very satisfying car to own/drive if you keep up with maintenance (and if you can get through/survive the horrendous Bluetooth HFL module/battery drain drama saga portion of ownership!)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,341 Posts
The problem relies on not showing the gear you are in...
This is always an issue with the TRS since the early 2000s. Having a bad solenoid wont cause the gear indicator to go blank.

In fact if there is a real problem with the transmission D5 should blink when the car starts..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
The problem relies on not showing the gear you are in...
This is always an issue with the TRS since the early 2000s. Having a bad solenoid wont cause the gear indicator to go blank.

In fact if there is a real problem with the transmission D5 should blink when the car starts..
I've only had this happen once, but the thing was the lights showed what |I was doing on the dash, and manual would not show my gear. I think that it is something to do with the TRS, but at this point it's low on the list of priorities, but something I will address soon!

As for the solenoid, would you know if there is anything I could do? I HAVE changed the pressure sensor, so it can't be that. Wiring could be an issue, or the solenoid, I think Anything else I should look at?

Thanks guys for all the help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
I've only had this happen once, but the thing was the lights showed what |I was doing on the dash, and manual would not show my gear. I think that it is something to do with the TRS, but at this point it's low on the list of priorities, but something I will address soon!

As for the solenoid, would you know if there is anything I could do? I HAVE changed the pressure sensor, so it can't be that. Wiring could be an issue, or the solenoid, I think Anything else I should look at?

Thanks guys for all the help!
If I were in your predicament, then it looks like you may have no other choice but to venture on-wards towards your favorite, local Acura Stealership, get a loaner vehicle, and wait for the call from the service advisor to see how much 'butt rape' they manage to throw your way?! >:)
<center><img src="https://target.scene7.com/is/image/Target/46757914?wid=520&hei=520&fmt=pjpeg" width="40%" height="40%"></center>

All kidding aside, better to be safe than sorry right? :29:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
local Acura Stealership
Sorry but this is totally unrelated to my thread... I live not far from a dealer, and my dad had to take his 06 TL there, well they were unable to diagnose the fact that he had a warped rotor, and we've never dealt with them since! So, I don't want to, but I might have to go to another stealer and get this sorted...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,341 Posts
It is very hard to diagnose a transmission over the internet.. In fact most people will recommend what you have already done which is replace the sensor. So your only hope next is for a professional diagnose either by your local friendly/useless dealership or a very, VERY GOOD independent Transmission Shop.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top