Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
newbie here . spent alot of time searching the forums but couldn't find a similar problem ....

2001 mdx with 225k kms . this problem started two weeks ago . i got in and started the truck . realized i forgot my sunglasses in the house . shut it down ran inside . when i tried to start the truck 2 mins later it just cranked over like there was no spark . tried several times but to no avail . popped the hood but all looked well . jumped in and tried again and it started right up . this reoccurred once every 2 days . weather it was hot or cold it seemed to make no difference . it seemed like once out of ten starts it would just spin over and if i had a smoke ( five mins would pass) it would start right up . once it was running i was good to go . used my obd scanner and got no codes . took to my mechanix and he seemed to hint with no codes he would be down to throwing money at it by buying new parts ... lmao so thats not ideal ... could live with it untill yesterday . driving down the highway when i heard a slight click and the truck went dead but dash lights and radio working . coasted to the side of the road . had a smoke and it would not start . another smoke and vroom it started right up . drove for 6-8 minutes then again it stalled . 7-8 minutes of patiently and calmly praying lol it started up again and drove it home (15 minutes away) where im afraid to get stuck somewhere so now it sits ..... doesnt give any notice nor does it seem like its fuel related as there is no struggle .just dies .....

·
Registered
3,338 Posts
I would check my Key Ignition Assembly,
The TL and CL side had a lot of problems in those years with faulty Key Ignition assembly´s. Solution is to change it.