Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! First time poster on this forum, but I've hung around here and there. I write up a lot of posts on other forums (mainly BMW) but i recently had this project so here I am.

The video is of a Ridgeline but an Acura MDX is very similar, and I've done axles on both vehicles (both 2007's). I thought it may help out some people over here as well.

My wife purchased a GoPro as a birthday present so I can record automotive projects that I do, and since her mom needed axles in her Ridgeline I figured it would be a nice little first project. I am a mobile mechanic that covers Florida, I maintain my families cars for them - a Ridgeline specific valve adjustment video or guide (or both) will be in the near future. I had the extra time I needed to shoot the video and I didnt see a whole lot out there for guides so I decided it was worth the effort.

I'm kind of shy and timid and its my first time in front of a camera but I thought it turned out ok with everything considered.

Tools you will need to complete the job;
10mm
12mm
19mm
22mm
21mm or 22mm forget what the wheels were
24mm
36mm
zip ties or coat hanger for caliper
punch or chisel set
pry bars
jack
jack stands
seal puller if you replace the axle seal
long heavy duty flat head screw driver
pry bars
flat bar
catch pan

Parts needed:
Passenger axle
Drivers side axle
Drivers side axle seal

Video link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THGrHVq1HPw

Everything is explained in the video, but below is an outline of the work.

If you dont have an impact the first thing we need to do is get the truck in position and then crack all 5 lug nuts. Then jack the truck up by the front jack point and use jack stands to support the truck. Use a punch and un-dent the front axle nuts for each side. Next you have a few options: