Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, for the first time in my life I am without a truck and never had an SUV. The Mdx has the factory hitch, and I need to transport four bikes. What am I looking for in a bike rack? The range in pricing is pretty extreme. Do I need a Yakima? What's good?

Mdx folks plead school me on bike racks.

Thanks

·
Registered
164 Posts
I use the same one, no issues and not too pricey. Nice thing is that you can tilt it back and be able to open your hatch. Holds 4 bikes nicely but takes a bit of adjusting/tilting the bikes.

·
Registered
129 Posts
I'm a total newb too and wanted to know the pros and cons of different bike racks:
1) Hollywood racks - attaches via rubber coated clamps and straps:
PROS - no hitch required if you dont already have one, portable
CONS - prone to dents and scratches over time, regardless of what the manufacturer says, and no security

2) Swingman - Attaches to towing hitch and swings sideways to allow access to the trunk
PROS - no need to take off the bikes to access the trunk
CONS - not sure???

3) Thules - has a variety of different types

4) K2 (listed above)..

Does anyone have a strong preference/opinion on which is the best? I do not have a towing hitch so that would be an extra $400-500 bucks cost. Which is why I would lean towards the trunk/hollywood rack style...

thanks!

·
Registered
869 Posts
If you have carbon fiber frames, you don't want anything touching the frame. Platform type hitch mounts are what you want. But most of them are bulky, heavy and difficult to store. The ratcheting ones are very convenient in use; it takes literally seconds to get a bike mounted or removed. A couple minutes for 4 bikes and you're on your way.

If you have aluminum frames you have a lot more flexibility. You may get paint damage with some racks, but it will be strictly cosmetic.