Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys ,
Can anyone help me identify w t f is this gunk under my rad cap? I don’t think it’s oil it feels sticky but I’m a novice so I’m just looking for answers. Sorry if pics are crappy phone camera sucks :( . I hope it’s not oil / head gasket . I thought maybe previous owner poured some kind of rad sealant? Had car for less then 6 months so not sure what he’s done . Any help appreciated !

·
Registered
4 Posts
It could be the build up from the coolant. If your car is over heating or you’re always having to add coolant I would flush the system and replace the thermostat and radiator cap.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It could be the build up from the coolant. If your car is over heating or you’re always having to add coolant I would flush the system and replace the thermostat and radiator cap.
Okay ,

car doesn’t over heat, but today when I got to work noticed a coolant leak from bottom left of radiator :(

·
Registered
673 Posts
Does look like oil that gets like jelly after a while when it churns with water. If the radiator is leaking, you might check your trans fluid to make sure if it’s oil, it’s not coming from there.

When you change the radiator, you could pressurize the old rad to 15psi and see if you get leaks at the trans oil section/fittings.

I suppose that could also happen from a leaking head gasket. One way to check is to get a test kit that checks for exhaust gas residuals in the coolant. You can get a loaner tool from an auto parts store and the test solution is about $10. The solution is blue and turns yellow if it detects exhaust gas.

Good luck!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Does look like oil that gets like jelly after a while when it churns with water. If the radiator is leaking, you might check your trans fluid to make sure if it’s oil, it’s not coming from there.