Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

Hardware or Software to improve MDX fuel consumption

23K views 34 replies 13 participants last post by  rsj1976 
#1 ·
Hi,

Newbie here, just both an used 2011 MDX. I did my research and new that it was a gas guzzler before buy it, but at that price range and category, all options are pretty much the same.

Does anyone has info to share on this topic? Beyond hyper-mileage driving techniques, I'm looking for info on cold air intake, upgrade in spark plugs, engine mapping, exhaust etc.

I'm about my first half of the tank, and city mileage is 17.5 :headshake :28:

#2 ·
Does anyone has info to share on this topic? Beyond hyper-mileage driving techniques, I'm looking for info on cold air intake, upgrade in spark plugs, engine mapping, exhaust etc.
Those won't make any significant difference in fuel economy. Driving techniques will, if you avoid hard acceleration and try to maintain a constant speed. If you're not keeping up to date on scheduled maintenance (e.g. engine air filter), that can have an effect as well.

I'm about my first half of the tank, and city mileage is 17.5 :headshake :28:
Getting 17.5 miles per gallon in the city, you're WAY above average. 13-16 around town is more typical, with 17-21 in mostly highway driving. Good for you! :29:

FWIW the new third gen (2014+) MDX gets substantially better fuel economy than the first or second gen.

#3 ·
I'm adopting all hyper-mileage techniques that I know, avoiding step in the gas, and maintain around 2k rpm.

I'm sure Acura need to follow several emissions regulations, therefore restrain the design to be secure. Perhaps there are mods that can be done temporarily (outside the eventual emission test) that we can do to increase mileage.

Not looking for a "silver bullet", but a set of mods that incrementally will improve (let's say 20%) on fuel consumption.

#10 ·