Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I'm a pretty novice DIY mechanic, so this is written for those with basic skills. If I'm insulting your car fixing intelligence, please move on.

Hi everyone, just wanted to share a quick DIY that has likely saved me hundreds of dollars at the shop. A week and a half ago, all my 2011 MDX's (nearing 80K miles) window controls suddenly stopped working, as well as the moonroof and mirror controls.

Did some research online, watched some YouTube vids, and learned that the driver side sub wire harness is a weak point and wires break and/or short over time. This part is the wire surrounded by black rubber accordian tubing connected between the door and the rest of the vehicle:

The symptoms were:
- All window controls didn't work. This includes the individual control at each door.
- Moon roof control didn't work.
- Side mirror controls stopped working for both sides, but mirrors would adjust with memory settings.

After reading about the sub wire issues, other common symptoms are the gas door and trunk release buttons not working, so this DIY can take care of several issues. The individual wires after years of the door opening and closing break or short, causing all sorts of issues. The harness is loaded with individual wires, so who knows what gremlins might surface when there's an issue?

What really irked me was that I couldn't control the individual windows at their respective door's control. Everything was dead. We were ok with the windows not working for a while when they were all shut, but the situation became more urgent when my son accidentally lowered the windows about 3-4 inches with the key fob unlock button.

So for a quick diagnosis, I peeled back the rubber boot on the door side, and sure enough a wire was dangling by itself (the yellow one at the bottom):