Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My cousin has a 2007 Acura MDX that doesn't have a burning oil problem, but an occasional false/inaccurate CHECK ENGINE OIL LEVEL message that will appear even when the oil level is perfectly fine.

She had bought the following article below (from 2011) to my attention, which discusses the potential availability of a past TSB from Acura regarding her particular problem while adding that she can't recall ever having come across this particular TSB throughout the past years (I also don't recall it)- and while the problem doesn't seem to happen to my 2009 MDX, she's now curious to see (assuming that such a TSB actually exists and/or had existed?) if any of the Acura dealership service departments would still fix this problem for her (or laugh @ the inquiry) per the potential TSB availability, considering that her 2007 MDX is well out of the 5 year warranty period....

Faulty Acura oil switch
https://www.autoserviceprofessional.com/article/91912/faulty-acura-oil-switch

This bulletin applies to 2007-2011 Acura MDX, 2009-2010 RL, 2009-2011 TL, 2010 TSX V6 and 2010-2011 Acura ZDX.

With a normal engine oil level, a “check engine oil level” message may appear on the MID or the navigation screen. The low oil pressure indicator on the instrument panel may also illuminate. The probable cause is a faulty oil pressure switch.

The corrective action is to replace the oil pressure switch. For 2007 and early production 2008 MDXs, also check the PGM-FI software and if necessary, update it with the HDS.

On 2007 MDXs and early production 2008 MDXs, the threads of the oil pressure switch are different than all other models, including later MDXs.

OIL SWITCH PART NUMBERS:
2007 MDX and early production 2008 MDX: 37240-RDM-A01
All except 2007 and early production 2008 MDX: 37240-R72-A01
O-ring (10.2 x 1.9) for R72 switch only: 91319-R70-A01

SOFTWARE INFORMATION
Only the 2007-2008 MDXs may need a software update. HDS software version 2.020.018 (Dec. 2009, green) or later.
Control module (CM) update: Database update 27-NOV-2009 or later.

The update PGM-FI software program IDs and P/Ns are shown below. If the HDS or MVCI is loaded with the latest software, and it displays No Update Needed during the update, the software for this service bulletin is already installed.

YEAR/MODEL PROGRAM ID PROGRAM P/N
2007 MDX YEA580 37805-RYE-A58
2008 MDX YEA630 37805-RYE-A63

REPAIR PROCEDURE:

1. Start the engine. Turn the steering wheel fully to the right, then shut off the engine.
2. Raise the vehicle on a lift.
3. For 2007-2008 MDX: detach the front clip from the right inner fender. Pull back the edge of the inner fender and look for an “R72” mark on the right side of the oil pump. If the oil pump features the “R72” mark, use P/N 37240-R72-A01 for the new engine oil pressure switch. If the oil pump does not have the “R72” mark, use oil pressure switch P/N 37240-RDM-A01.


<center><img src="https://images.autoserviceprofessional.com/post/M-AC01-3-1.jpg"></center>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
752 Posts
My 2007 was occasionally giving me the same check oil level warning.
At 1st I was worried about the software update posibility,but after searching I found a couple of posts saying no software was needed.
I changed my sensor with a large (12" x 24mm) open ended wrench, which I didn't think would fit in the small area, but it did. I made 6 ea 1/8" turns with the wrench, before I could unscrew the sensor by hand.
13 inch pounds of torque, after I scraped off the old gasket material with my thumb nail and reapplied a thin layer of gasket maker.
It's been 4 months with no more false warnings. I never took it to Acura for any software update.

Counting get the mdx up on a jack stand, I'd give it a difficulty rating of 2 out of 10.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
338 Posts
I just changed mine out a couple of weeks ago.
I don't under stand why they would not include the o-ring with the sensor.

The picture is a bit misleading, in that the sensor is just slightly behind another sensor by the oil filter.

The easiest way to tell if your pump has the "R72" mark on it is to use your cell phone in video mode.

I also found it easier to swap out with the tire removed.

There is a thread where I posted up some pictures. https://www.mdxers.org/forums/74-second-generation-mdx-2007-2013/35787-oil-level-low-warning-flashes-randomly-3.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Bumping this thread as I intend to have the OIL PRESSURE SWITCH and O-ring on my 2009 Acura MDX which presently has about 103K miles on it....while it's been a while since I had been having some (likely false) low oil level warnings, I figure that it can't hurt to replace this (notoriously failing) 2nd gen. Acura MDX part! :29:

<center><img src="https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/61MtjvFyoBL._SL1500_.jpg"></center>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
HOLY
<img src="https://media.gettyimages.com/photos/poop-picture-id186825263" width="30%" height="30%">!!!!!!


I just called the Acura Stealership (out of pure curiosity) and was actually quoted $500 out the door (parts & labor) to change the Oil Pressure Switch on my 2009 Acura MDX!!!!:surprise: *OIL PRESSURE SWITCH can be purchased online for about $65 (with optional O-ring depending on model year MDX, costing less than $10) and labor should be FREE for most people as this looks like a legitimate DIY-er job!!
Bwahaahahahahahahahhahahahaahahhaahha LOL!!!!!!! :laugh: :crying2: :laugh:

*these people really do have no shame at all!!! :blingblin :1pat:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
739 Posts
It is not the dealership, it is the employees. The Service Rep is only looking out for himself or herself - generate revenue to get employee of the month.

Honda Dealer -
Scenario #1: I approached the parts dept to buy some transmission fluid. I asked I want to buy 12 quarts, do you offer discount? The part guy ( happened to be Parts Manager) said yes. We give discount when you buy 6 or more.

Scenario #2: I went to the same dealer and asked to buy another 12 quarts of transmission fluid again about a year later. I asked the part guy (not the same guy) about the discount. He said we don't offer discount no matter how many you buy.

Scenario #3: Same dealer. I went to Pepboys to replace battery with Bosch AGM battery and the battery terminal was slightly smaller than the cable clamp. Pepboys guys did not know what to do. So I drove to the Honda dealer to have them fix it. I explained the issue to them, and the service rep said we'll have technician look at it. About 30 minutes later, I was called in and talked to both service rep and the technician. The technician explained how he fixed it. Then the service rep said "you're all set to go." I was surprised I was expecting to pay something.

Sent from my LG-US996 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Does anyone happen know the difference between a TRANSMISSION OIL PRESSURE SWITCH and an OIL PRESSURE SWITCH- or are they the same thing?....i'm a bit confused now as within the video below, the gentleman appears to be replacing the TRANSMISSION OIL PRESSURE SWITCH on a 2008 Acura MDX?:

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,338 Posts
Transmission Pressure Switches are sensors that help the transmission know if the gear change has been made, Usually there is a Transmission Switch per gears in the transmission.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Priscillababy

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thank you Mr. Skirmich....good to know (for the mechanically disinclined like me) that the Transmission Pressure Switch and the Oil Pressure Switch are two different parts. :29:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
This message and the red oil pressure light came on for the first time last week - only once, and didn't happen again until today. It came on at almost every stop light, then went out when the car got moving. I'm hoping this is still just the sensor?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Forgot to say last week I checked the oil level and it was fine, which is why I wasn't worried at the time. The fact that it now comes on when the engine is idling is a little more troubling.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,338 Posts
Just FYI... This is SUPER COMMON on ANY HONDA WITH VTEC....
it seems that using the Engine Oil Pressure switch in the VTEC/Oil Filter assembly causes premature wear on the Engine Oil Pressure Switch.. SO if your Honda & Acura has VTEC? its 100% Guaranteed you will replace an Engine Oil Pressure Switch at least once in the vehicle lifespan, This affects 4 cyl too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Priscillababy

·
Registered
Joined
·
338 Posts
Just FYI... This is SUPER COMMON on ANY HONDA WITH VTEC....
it seems that using the Engine Oil Pressure switch in the VTEC/Oil Filter assembly causes premature wear on the Engine Oil Pressure Switch.. SO if your Honda & Acura has VTEC? its 100% Guaranteed you will replace an Engine Oil Pressure Switch at least once in the vehicle lifespan, This affects 4 cyl too.
Never had the issue with my Accord that had 220K Kms when I got rid of it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,338 Posts
You got lucky.. The whole wide internet is filled with this issue on Honda & Acura forums.
Hey there are people that never had an OG 5 Speed trans fail on them? I had 2 failures.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
739 Posts
When I bought my car *used*, the oil sensor was unplugged. I know the previous did not do it because he let the dealer do everything.

Sent from my LG-US996 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
My dealership quoted $268 + tax for my 2007 MDX even though they stated it would only take an hour. That's quite a per hour labor charge... especially knowing the part is $50
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
clean with sea foam

try cleaning/ soaking the sensor port (using seafom it worked for me) . I believe that because of the upward angle dirt or air traps at the sensor port.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Wouldn't you know it - I checked for the "mark" and it's illegible. I can't believe there's no stamping... I can't tell if my mind is filling in the blanks to make it look like it says R72, or if it says something different. For those of you who have checked, is it either R72 or completely blank? Just because googling around I saw see some other Honda/Acura oil pumps that had an R70 stamp in the same place. Thanks!
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top