Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, just purchased a 2007 MDX with very noticeable silver-dollar size burn marks in the lenses of DRL directly opposite the bulbs. These burns are black in color and on both left and right sides. The DRLs turn on as they are supposed to but look pretty ridiculous with their big black pupils. Has anyone else experienced this and do you have any theories about what might have caused this?

·
Registered
261 Posts
My 2009 has very light but noticeable circulation discoloration on the lenses. I assume it’s from the heat burning residue in the air that landed on the interior surface of the glass. I could find no convenient way to clean it. Actually I upped the ante with the HiPro 110w 5900K halogen bulbs. It actually looks better when on but my spot is only noticeable when the lights are off & you are looking at it hard. The 110w bulb will likely only make things worse.

·
Registered
161 Posts
OP your situation makes me think someone replaced the original DRL bulbs with something aftermarket of a higher wattage that burned the plastic.

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
It looks like someone messed with the DRLs and put some bulbs in them that are not actually suitable and way too hot, which melted the clear plastic. You can find aftermarket replacements on eBay for about $100 for a set of two, or you can source used OEM ones for about $30 a pop.

Dont forget to put the correct bulbs in them, too, while you are at it.

·
Registered
261 Posts