Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me start by saying by saying that I am sorry for the poor order of my pictures. I was learning as I went and didn't really have the time to make them too organized. Also, I will say this is no easy task. I am an aircraft mechanic and I would say this might be a little difficult for those of you that aren't too mechanically inclined. On the other hand, it's always worth trying. You can always take in to get fixed half way through and it would probably be cheaper than a dealer would charge for this. A Honda/Acura repair shop wanted $180 for this repair (I am sure a dealer would tack on around another $70 to that). It cost me NOTHING. This was done on a 2001 MDX by the way. Some of you might not have to take the seat apart as much as I did, as I found out that my cable was just disconnected from the top. In the long run though it will make this a lot easier if you do take it all apart.

First, you will want to take the little tab off the top recline lever (I forgot to take a pic of this but if you lift the lever in picture 16 it's the cover that covers the screws that the arrow point to in picture in 10. Pry to cover off with a small flat headed screwdriver (be careful not to damage the plastic with the screw driver). Then take out the screws.

Then go to the other recline lever on the side of the seat (pic 1). Take out the little screw in the knob at the end of the lever and pull the knob off. Pry off the stickers that show how the seat reclines (I used a butter knife for a lot of the prying, it will make it a little easier to pry without damaging the parts because it has a wider surface area). Then take out the screws under the stickers and remove the recline cover.

Then move to the bottom of the seat and pull back on the cover that I have my finger on in picture 3. It should just pull back. Then take out the screw (you will need a torx bit to take this out).