Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I have been looking to buy an MDX for some time now and I finally found one that I like. I found a 2010 MDX W/ SH-awd tech package with 75K for $16,000(Will be asking to buy for 15,000).

After doing some research it looks like there have been some complaints with the engine knock, Bluetooth(Easy fix) and the shocks and dampers.

I own a 2004 Grand Cherokee and this will be a second car, but I am wondering if I am walking into a money pit. I am trying to decide between this and the Honda Pilot while keeping my budget around 15,000. It looks like I can get a Honda pilot for around 8K less than this.

I have read where its nice to not have the Tech package as its comes with more problems, and not sure what to do here.

If it helps, I am a mechanic of sorts and will do most of the maintenance and fixes myself. I'm not a full blown ASE mechanic but I can figure alot of stuff out and have worked on cars and boats my whole life.

Anyway, what do you think? Is it worth it to get this car or am I walking into problems?

TIA!

·
Registered
1,654 Posts
The shock complaints are generally the Advance models with the ADS (Active Damper System). They really don't even fail prematurely by many shock/damper standards, but they're quite expensive to replace when they do. I believe the bluetooth issues (HFL module) were pre '10. The tech model adds navigation and a few electronic doo-dads so I suppose you could argue there is more to go wrong, but there's nothing in the tech model that has a known history of failing. The tech is by-far the most popular model MDX.