Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Working on replacing shocks and considering replacing most of the steering/suspecion components. Difficiult time deciding on whether to replace lower controls arms. Any thoughts?

Attachments

·
Registered
6,347 Posts
I've been contemplating doing this for a couple of years. I know one member said replacing these was the best thing he could have done with the suspension.

·
Registered
805 Posts
While the transmission was out and the sub-frame was down, I did replace all shocks/struts with Monroe aftermarket ones.

I also replaced the lower control arm bushings (saw the same tear on the bushing as in your picture) and the ball joints with MOOG aftermarket ones.

The stabilizer links looked pretty bad and were cheap enough so I replaced both along with the sway bar bushing.

The outer tie rods were still good so I left them alone and only replaced the rubber boots.

I have to say it rides a lot better and with a luxury feeling again. The Monroe shocks are a lot softer than the original shocks, so stay away from them if you want to have a sport-car-like ride. I am an old man, so it suits me fine.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
While the transmission was out and the sub-frame was down, I did replace all shocks/struts with Monroe aftermarket ones.

I also replaced the lower control arm bushings (saw the same tear on the bushing as in your picture) and the ball joints with MOOG aftermarket ones.

The stabilizer links looked pretty bad and were cheap enough so I replaced both along with the sway bar bushing.

The outer tie rods were still good so I left them alone and only replaced the rubber boots.

I have to say it rides a lot better and with a luxury feeling again. The Monroe shocks are a lot softer than the original shocks, so stay away from them if you want to have a sport-car-like ride. I am an old man, so it suits me fine.