Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering if anyone has experienced a loud clanking noise when they brake. My situation is when I initially get in the X on my very first braking I hear a loud clank noise, now bare with me since I am not a mechanic, but if I had to guess I would say the noise sounds as if my brake calipers were loose and upon braking they would make the noise I am trying to describe. Very annoying and frustrating for such a pricey vehicle, I made an appointment with the dealer already but was wondering if others might have come across a similar situation/issue.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Yeah, I'm also having the loud clanking sound when initially braking. Haven't reported it to the dealer yet, but it's on the list I'll give to the service manager when I get the time....

·
Registered
161 Posts
I have this annoying problem too. Usually most noticeable when you first start out. I checked with my service dept. and the advisor on the phone said he wasn't aware of this problem, but when I mentioned that many MDX owners on this website also had this problem, he suddenly fessed up about other complaints. He said it was normal for all Acuras. The brakes are floating on the calipers and when you change directions you'll hear a clunking sound, ie the brakes are adjusting.

I've never had this problem with my other vehicles. Altho, this is my first Acura. He said it's a characteristic of all Acuras. Is this a "cop-out" response?

Also, there is also a problem of slight hesitation when first starting out in the morning. It only happens for a few hundred feet. I thought it was just the 4-wheel drive system. The service advisor said this occurs because the vehicle isn't warmed-up yet. But, I said with fuel injection you shouldn't need to warm-up before driving. He said this is a big engine and may need warming up.