Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
762 Posts
Great video, great asset to the community. My suggestion would be wash engine before opening valve covers.

Reactions: AcuraAddicted

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great video, great asset to the community. My suggestion would be wash engine before opening valve covers.
Thanks! I'm peronally really not a fan of washing anything under the hood, but can wipe it instead. Probably vacuuming is also not a bad idea.

·
Registered
738 Posts
I couldn't find a video that made me feel comfortable doing the valves, on a v6.
If this video was around last Fall, when I paid an import repair shop $475, I would have had enough to do it myself.
Anyway, the video is good for the next guy.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Excellent video bogdan. Have you done TB service yet? I was looking at the service manual for adjusting the valves and I got scared because I'm not experienced enough to attempt this, but your video gives me hope now.. My X is currently at 240k so this service is much needed.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,294 Posts
^ Timing Belt service is way easier to mess up and the consequences are far more severe.
If you are not confident to do the valves I highly recommend you do not attempt the TB service.

The valves are more time consuming but easier than the TB/105K...
This is the reason I haven´t done a DIY post, Its very hard to convey some details about it that are critical.

Reactions: RainGoat

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Excellent video bogdan. Have you done TB service yet?
Thanks!

Yes, done TB and new oil pump done about 3 weeks ago, so video should be coming somewhere late fall, I guess.

I was looking at the service manual for adjusting the valves and I got scared because I'm not experienced enough to attempt this, but your video gives me hope now.