2016 MDX Tech Package Engine Start Issue - Acura MDX Forum : Acura MDX SUV Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 1 Day Ago Thread Starter

2016 MDX Tech Package Engine Start Issue

I’m a newbie here so pls forgive if this topic has been covered.. has anyone experienced intermittent starting issues with their MDX? When the start button is pressed all the dash lights blink rapidly & a clicking sound is heard. Battery voltage & amps check out ok.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 1 Day Ago

How did you check the battery voltage? Simple voltmeter or a proper battery tester capable of sensing a weak battery? Also inspect battery cables and ground straps for good, clean contact and tightness

2007 MDX Tech Billet Silver
2007 Honda Odyssey EX-L Nav/Res
30+ Years Automotive & Related Industry Experience
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 1 Day Ago

Those, light show/relays clicking/no start, are the identical symptoms I had when the battery finally failed in my 2014 MDX at just over 4 years old. You most likely have a failed battery. Even if you put a voltmeter on it and it reads around 12v that doesn't mean it can sustain a load, which is what needs to occur on startup.

Take the battery to be load tested or if it's over 3-4 years old just go ahead and replace it.

Of course, the problem could also be a poor cable connection due to corrosion, not being tight, etc. but I'll bet the issue's the battery.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 1 Day Ago Thread Starter

Thanks for quick responses....I had battery tested at local Battery Source store, they checked static voltage & under load..tech said it read OK, although I don’t know actual values
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 1 Day Ago

Welcome to my world. This issue is super annoying.

I swapped out the battery 3 times now and it still happens from time to time with it becoming more frequent.