Maintenance Minder look-ahead - Acura MDX Forum : Acura MDX SUV Forums
 2Likes
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Unread 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
BGK

Maintenance Minder look-ahead

I have the 2017 Hybrid model, with 30K miles on it.

I’m relatively new to Honda products, and haven’t spent a lot of time with the maintenance minder. One thing that I would like to be able to do is to look ahead and see when my transmission is going to need a fluid change.

I see in the MID that the next maintenance minder service is a B1 (hasn’t gone off yet). That is not a code that requires transmission service.

So, is there any way to look further ahead and see approximately when this transmission will be due for service? I don’t see anything in the manual that lays out a maintenance schedule.

This car has the dual clutch transmission, and it seems to be getting a bit rough at low speeds, rougher than usual. So I am wondering how soon it might be due for service.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Unfortunately there is not a way to look beyond the next service. Strange that it isn't tripping the trans service code, but Honda may have advanced the MM to call for the trans service based on type of miles driven (the same as it calculates oil life) vs just calling for it based on time or miles. If you are getting some shift quality issues I would log it as a complaint with your dealer and not be surprised if the first thing they recommend is a fluid service (not covered by warranty of course) before they pursue any other solution. The reason for logging the complaint rather than just requesting a fluid service is to cover the possibility of another issue existing. That way if you experience an issue after you are out of warranty you can refer back to the complaint.

2007 MDX Tech Billet Silver
2007 Honda Odyssey EX-L Nav/Res
30+ Years Automotive & Related Industry Experience

Garage