Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

Do Your Own Oil Change?

8K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  FEM 
#1 ·
I find it surprising that I have not come across any complaints about the way this vehicle is set up for oil changes.

I have had three tries at the procedure, so far, and in all cases I have wound up with everything from drips to spills on my garage floor.

There are two problems. First, the access to the oil filter is terrible. Inexcusable. This makes it very difficult to get the oil filter out without spilling and without follow-on drips on the floor.

Second, the oil filler pipe is inaccessible without some sort of funnel.

I am a design engineer. I have seen a lot of stupid, stupid design work in my days. This is perhaps the most stupid, because it would have taken no extra money and very little extra thought to make for an easy way to change oil. There is no reason that the shrouding around the oil filter could not have been done is such a way so as to provide acceptable access. There is no reason that the filler pipe on the top could not have been extended upward so as to not require a special tool. Think about it... with this car you have to have a special tool to add a quart of oil without making a complete mess.

I am guessing that the people who did the design work on this part of the car are the same people who were in charge of the navigation system.

See less See more
#2 ·
Are you new to Honda/Acura? The transaxle nature and VTEC solenoid position makes the filter unable to be repositioned somewhere else, Even in the new DI Engine the filter is in the same place because of the VTEC Actuator.
Regardless of that, The oil filter has been in the same place since +20years ago..