Google Maps through Phone + Listening to XM at same time = possible? - Acura MDX Forum : Acura MDX SUV Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-13-2015, 04:39 PM Thread Starter

Google Maps through Phone + Listening to XM at same time = possible?

Hi All,

I have a 2014 MDX Adv+Tech package (less than 3 months owned). I'm a savvy tech guy but the audio source controls are frustrating me.

Goal: Listen to XM/FM AND be able to get directions through Google Maps (iPhone).

After trial/error and searching online, I figure this is not possible. I believe I read somewhere that if an audio stream is playing (XM), Google Maps will not route audio through Bluetooth.

What I have tried:

1) Source = Bluetooth. I can get Maps directions but I cannot listen to XM
2) Source = XM. I can listen to XM and I cannot get Maps (via BT)
3) Source = USB or iPod (via usb connector). Maps nor any music via phone works

Yet to Try:

1) Aux. But i'm assuming it's like #1 i.e., Maps will work but no XM.

Questions:

1) What do you do to be able to listen to XM AND Google Maps? Worst worst case, I can stream Spotify/XM/Maps through the phone and all my problems will be solved... (but I don't get to utilize the Tech package investment)

2) How do you get the the USB or iPod connectors working? I tried Apple Music (no sound), Spotify (no sound). I know the connector is working because the phone is charging..

THank you all - I hate doing 1/2 and 1/2: Looking up for XM and looking down for Maps

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-13-2015, 07:42 PM

Hate is a strong word, but I think your options are to deal with it.

It's funny, was listening a CD today (MP3's) and a buddy sent me a text message with a video.

I clicked the video and my music stopped and the audio from the video played.....so, it can do this.