Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

Looking to buy used

2K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  litespd 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm new the the forums and new to Acura but my wife and I are looking at buying a used MDX so I thought I would look for some buying advise from the experts. I searched the forums and found some answers but really i'm looking for more comprehensive information since I'm completely new to Acura or Honda.

We are looking at MDXs in the 2007 to 2010 range with anywhere from 65,000 to 90,000 miles. Besides the usual used cars issues/ service history is there anything specific we should be aware of, typical issues, chronic problems or model gremlins. I really appreciate the advise from the community, we don't buy many cars as I do my best to keep ours running so this process is something I don't take lightly.

#2 ·
Be sure to do some research here, truedelta.com

I bought a 2005 MDX in 2010 with 82,000 miles, now at 180,000. The front motor mount broke, nothing else. I gave it to son and bought a 2010 with 71,000 miles based on my own experience, True Delta, and price. I took the 2010 to an Acura dealer for a full fluids change and bumper-to-bumper check; one issue, an oil level sensor switch, $150, covered by extended warranty from the original buyer. I already put 3,000 miles on it, flawless.

#3 ·
The MDX is divided between the 07-09 base/tech or the +10 MMC version. You can also get the 07-09 with the sport suspension with magnetic struts/shocks or add the OEM rear entertainment system.

The +10 has the new front/rear styling, 6AT, paddle shifters, minor updates to interior, and updated tech:
- harddrive navi,
- USB connection for iphone/flash drive music,
- harddrive to store music,
- updated navi with traffic/weather,
- easier phone integration with bluetooth address load,
- bluetooth audio

Acura added an Advance model with:
- magnetic shocks/struts for sport and comfort mode,
- blind spot monitoring (BSI),