Acura MDX SUV Forums banner

AC Inverter Died :/

12K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  skirmich 
#1 ·
Well folks...

For some bizarre reason my AC Invertor Died (120V AC Outlet, Entertainment Pkg only) the most insane thing it ever did was charge an iPad.. Suddenly it stopped working.

Went to see the fuse and its blown, replaced it with a new one and instantaneously blow once I open Key pos II. So I think the invertor died.
With the price of a new Inverter I think I am out of OEM 120V Outlet http://www.hondapartsunlimited.com/...nit-cabin-1-scat/?part_name=inverter-unit-a-c

Any thoughts?

#4 ·
I will try to remove it today and put a new fuse and give it a go.. This will remove the cabling out of the equation, Now I need the courage to start dissembling the center dash.

#5 ·
OK I got the inverter out and open..

Now I am not an electrician but it seems to look okay to me? No burnt smell or anything...

#6 ·
If you replaced the fuse with the unit out, with no ill effect, and you have 12V at the connector, that might clear the input wiring. But what about the output wiring? Maybe probe the 120v terminals with an ohmmeter and make sure there is no continuity between them. With the unit still out, of course... :surprise:

Also check both AC terminals for continuity to vehicle ground.

Could also take the inverter unit to a car audio shop and see if they can test it for you. Dunno about your neighborhood, but there are still a few guys around here that can actually test and repair stuff instead of just throwing in a new, more expensive version.

#7 ·